Simple Meals – Fried Rice with Eggs (and a search for the perfect baked tofu recipe)

This post was initially going to be about the baked tofu in the picture.  Over the last year, I have been on a quest to find the perfect baked tofu recipe.  I’ve tried various pre-made sauces and home-made marinades, but none of them have that “wow” taste to them.  Chris gifted me a vegan cookbook for my birthday (we’re not vegan, but eat a lot of meatless and dairy-free meals) and it has a tofu marinade recipe in it that’s different than the other ones I’ve tried. It sounded so good.   I thought it was the one.

I marinated the tofu the night before and thought about it all day, looking forward to its ginger-garlic-sesame oil-tamari goodness.  Sadly, it didn’t taste as good in real life as it sounded. It wasn’t tasteless, but it wasn’t what I’m looking for.  So the search is still on.

While I was baking the tofu, I decided to look for a fried rice recipe to go with it as a side.  I opened one of my favorite cookbooks – How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman.  I love this cookbook for its simple recipes on pretty much anything I can think of.  And everything turns out so good. My cookbook is filled with notes in the margins: “great!” “make again” “so tasty”.

This rice is simple, but oh so tasty, and it more than made up for the disappointing tofu.

Fried Rice with Eggs (from How to Cook Everything – Mark Bittman)

4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp peanut oil (or canola or other oil)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp peeled and minced fresh ginger
  • 3 to 4 cups leftover or cooked rice, cooled
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions: 

  1. Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over high heat for one minute.
  2. Add garlic, ginger and cook, stirring constantly, for one minute
  3. Turn heat down to med-high and add the rice, stir frequently for three minutes.
  4. Make a little hole in the centre of the rice and pour in the eggs.  Gently scramble eggs with rice.
  5. Once eggs are cooked, add soy sauce and stir.  Let cook for a few minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

If anyone has a “wow” baked tofu recipe, I’d love to try it out!

(ps. I’m not being compensated for the cookbook review, but I do think it’s an amazing cookbook. I use it at least once a week for easy last minute side dishes and more involved main dishes). 

4 thoughts on “Simple Meals – Fried Rice with Eggs (and a search for the perfect baked tofu recipe)

  1. Let me know when you find that good baked tofu. We too eat a lot of vegan/vegetarian meals but so far have only enjoyed tofu that is sauteed or pan fried.

Leave a Reply

