Simple Meals – Spicy Rice and Beans

This is a recipe that my friend Jill shared a few years ago when we all tried a vegan diet for a while.  We’ve all since gone back to an omnivore diet, but discovered many great vegan recipes during that time.

Spicy Rice and Beans has become a staple in our house.  I love the flexibility of the recipe and how easy it is to throw together.

Spicy Rice and Beans (by Jill N-N)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 stalks of celery (I omit this if I don’t have any in the fridge)
  • Can of sweet corn
  • Any extra veggies you need to use up
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano (or more, to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp. thyme (or more, to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp. basil (or more, to taste)
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper (or more, to taste)
  • 1 cup white rice
  • 1 can black beans (or 2 cups cooked black beans) and/or
  • 1 can chickpeas (or 2 cups cooked chickpeas)
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 cup veggie broth or  1 can of diced tomatoes with liquid
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Directions:

  • Heat the olive oil.  Once heated, cook the onions for 5 minutes.
  • Add the garlic and vegetables and saute for 2 minutes.
  • Add herbs and spices and mix until everything is coated.
  • Add tomato paste, vegetable broth or diced tomatoes, beans, rice and salt. Bring to a boil, turn down heat and simmer for 20 minutes or until rice is cooked.
Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Simple Meals – Spicy Rice and Beans

  1. You know what is funny is that I don’t recognize that recipe. I don’t remember the last time I used tomato paste. I cut up a couple of tomatoes and figure that’s good enough. And then I use a half cup of brown rice and a few handfuls of quinoa instead of the white rice. I wonder what it would be like if I went back to the original.

  2. Oh I love beans and rice, it reminds me of a classic Caribbean version, and I haven’t eaten it in years. Thanks for the reminder, and your version looks great too as I have some shelling beans in the freezer from last years crops so I need to get busy and start using them 🙂

    • I agree, beans and rice is a great combo. I’d love to hear about the Caribbean version someday. Your comment reminded me that I also some string beans in the freezer from last year that I need to start using. They’d be tasty in this recipe I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

