Ezekiel the Kumquat

This weekend we added a new plant to our indoor jungle.  Ezekiel (yes, I name most of my plants :)) is a kumquat – a slow-growing evergreen shrub which produces small citrus fruit. I have wanted a kumquat plant ever since I saw one bearing fruit in an artist’s house I visited ten years ago.  

Our four-year dating anniversary was last month, and in keeping with our tradition of buying houseplants to celebrate anniversaries, I suggested that we buy a kumquat this year.  

Our indoor jungle is starting to fill up.  Ezekiel joins Priscilla, Dr. Figgy, Charles, Tarzan, Freaky Plant, Iri, Yucca, Spiky, Grandpa, and a number of unnamed plants. Many of these plants were gifted to us by family and friends, or were bought for special occasions.  It makes me happy to look at them and remember people and different times in our lives.

I want to keep adding more and more plants, but Chris – who waters the plants -says we have enough. I told him Ezekiel would be the last one for a while, but I’m sure he won’t be able to say no to another request come next February’s dating anniversary. 🙂

Do you have advice on taking care of a kumquat plant or know of any recipes to use its fruit?

4 thoughts on “Ezekiel the Kumquat

  1. You never cease to amaze me, I don’t know anything about kumquats, but wanted to reply and tell you how much I love your tradition, and you are ‘cleaning’ and purifying your air with all the greenery…how could he say no? 🙂

    I love that you name them, I’m going to tell my daughters about that…it may because their favourite thing!

Leave a Reply

