New favorite – homemade granola bars

I started making these gluten-free granola bars a few months ago for Chris, but I quickly started eating them too as they are so good. If I would have known homemade granola bars were this easy to make I would have started making them years ago!

This recipe comes from the glutenfreegirl’s website.  It is the main website that I have been using to find gluten free recipes. They have all been great and easy to follow.

Granola Bars (adapted from glutenfreegirl.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats (I’ve used both rolled and quick-cooking)
  • 1 cup walnuts (or hazelnuts or almonds)
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup puffed rice cereal
  • 2 cups mixed dried fruit (I usually use raisins and cranberries, but any dried fruit would work)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325.
  • Line a small casserole dish with parchment paper (I find my 9×6 stoneware baking dish to be the perfect size).
  • Add oats and almonds (or hazelnuts) to casserole dish and toast in oven for about 10 minutes. Turn once in a while.
  • In a saucepan, add honey, brown sugar, butter, vanilla and salt. Bring the mixture to a slow boil on medium heat.  Once it starts boiling, set aside.
  • In a large bowl, mix together toasted oats and almonds (or hazelnuts), sunflower seeds, puffed rice cereal, and dried fruit.
  • Add honey/sugar mix to bowl and stir until everything is evenly coated.
  • Pour mixture into the casserole dish.  Smooth out with a rubber spatula.
  • Bake 15 minutes (up to 30 minutes if you like your granola bars crunchy).
  • Cool for at least an hour before cutting them up into bars.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “New favorite – homemade granola bars

  1. Thanks for posting the gluten free website. I’ve had minor issues with wheat for some time now and it’s reared its ugly head again so I’m trying to cut back on my wheat intake. Being able to make my own is much cheaper and tastier than what’s available in stores.

    • I agree, when I first went out to buy gluten free products I was surprised at the cost. That’s what made me search the internet for good recipes. All of the recipes I’ve made from the gluten-freegirl website have been great. I had to go out an buy a scale and a variety of flours, but after that it’s so easy to put her recipes together. Good luck!

  2. Oh Marcelle, they look awesome! I have made granola bars a lot in the past…and had been adding ‘hemp’ butter to them for extra protein (Unfortunately the Natural Section of The Superstore doesn’t carry the Manitoba Harvest Hemp Butter anymore, so I’d given up on granola bars. I may just have to try out your recipe!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

